Daily Archives: December 15, 2011

Meeting solons and advocates during the “Occupy for RH” event

Frustrated with the continued delay in the passage of the controversial Reproductive Health bill, its advocates began last November 21 putting up Occupy Wall Street-inspired protest camps in the SB Park in Quezon City – just across the South Wing Gate of the House of Representatives.

A week before that, House Majority Leader Neptali Gonzales, Jr. (Lone district, Mandaluyong) announced that the solons would vote on the measure by June next year, instead of December this year, since “at least 20 congressmen are still lined up for interpellations.”

Dr. Junice Melgar, the movement’s chief coordinator, told GMA News in an interview: “The lawmakers can’t keep interpellating ‘til kingdom come. ‘Wag nilang patayin ang RH bill dahil sa delay.” (They should not kill the RH bill through delays.) I went to the event last November 24. On that night, campers were entertained by singers Bayang Barrios and Cookie Chua.

Party list solons Abigail Faye Ferriol (Kalinga) and Raymond Palatino (Kabataan) also briefly addressed the crowd. I was able to speak to them re their support for the said bill. Award-winning blogger and prominent RH bill advocate Elizabeth Angsioco was also present in the event. I am sharing with you photos I took:

Mark Madrona and RH advocate (and award-winning blogger) Elizabeth Angsioco

Mark Madrona and Rep. Abigail Faye Ferriol of Kalinga party list

Me and singer Bayang Barrios

Me and singer Cookie Chua (remember "Paglisan"?)

*Advocates told me they intend to continue “occupying” for RH until House solons prioritize its passage before they go on a Christmas break. Angsioco told me it is possible if “there’s political will.”

You know something’s wrong in our legislative system when Speaker Sonny Belmonte was able to gather 188 signatures for the impeachment resolution against Chief Justice Renato Corona in merely FIVE HOURS while the Reproductive Health bill is still pending in Congress after TEN YEARS.

Solons want more deliberations on the RH bill on one hand even though it has been pending for a decade now. On the other, a vast majority of them endorsed the Corona impeachment complaint even without being able to read its eight articles.


List of Congressmen Who Did NOT Sign the Corona Impeachment Complaint

*This list was posted via Facebook by  Irish Gillette Rillera Sarmiento.

Gloria Arroyo swearing in Renato Corona as Chief Justice (from Philippine Daily Inquirer)

Aglipay, Emmeline Y.; PL – DIWA

Albano, Rodolfo B.; Isabela, 1st District

Alcover, Pastor Jr. M.; PL – ANAD

Almario, Thelma Z.; Davao Oriental, 2nd District

Amante-Matba, Angelica M.; Agusan del Norte, 2nd District

Andaya, Rolando Jr. G.; Camarines Sur, 1st District

Antonino, Rodolfo W.; Nueva Ecija, 4th District

Apostol, Sergio F.; Leyte, 2nd District

Aquino, Jose II S.; Agusan del Norte, 1st District

Arroyo, Diosdado Macapagal; Camarines Sur, 2nd District

Arroyo, Iggy T.; Negros Occidental, 5th District

Aumentado, Erico B.; Bohol, 2nd District

Bagasina, Catalina C.; PL – ALE

Biazon, Rodolfo G.; Muntinlupa City, Lone District

Bichara, Al Francis DC.; Albay, 2nd District

Binay, Mar-Len Abigail S.; Makati City, 2nd District

Bondoc, Anna York P., M.D.; Pampanga, 4th District

Bravo, Narciso Jr. R.; Masbate, 1st District

Brawner Baguilat, Teddy Jr.; Ifugao, Lone District

Cagas, Marc Douglas IV C.; Davao del Sur, 1st District

Calimbas-Villarosa, Ma. Amelita A.; Occidental Mindoro, Lone District

Canonigo, Ranulfo P.; PL – KAKUSA

Cari, Jose Carlos L.; Leyte, 5th District

Castro, Jane T.; Capiz, 2nd District

Co, Christopher S.; PL – AKO BICOL

Dalog, Maximo B.; Mountain Province, Lone District

Datumanong ,Simeon A.; Maguindanao, 2nd District

Defensor, Arthur Jr. R.; Iloilo, 3rd District

Del Rosario, Anthony G.; Davao del Norte, 1st District

Diaz, Antonio M. (†); Zambales, 2nd District

Dimaporo, Fatima Aliah Q.; Lanao del Norte, 2nd District

Dimaporo, Imelda Quibranza; Lanao del Norte, 1st District

Duavit, Joel Roy; Rizal, 1st District

Ecleo, Ruben Jr. B.; Dinagat Islands, Lone District

Escudero, Salvador III H.; Sorsogon, 1st District

Fabian, Erico Basilio A.; Zamboanga City, 2nd District

Fariñas, Rodolfo C.; Ilocos Norte, 1st District

Fernandez, Danilo Ramon S.; Laguna, 1st District

Flores, Florencio Jr. T.; Bukidnon, 2nd District

Fua, Orlando B.; Siquijor, Lone District

Garcia, Pablo John F.; Cebu, 3rd District

Garcia, Pablo P.; Cebu, 2nd District

Gullas, Eduardo R.; Cebu, 1st District

Gunigundo, Magtanggol T.; Valenzuela City, 2nd District

Ilagan,Luzviminda C.; PL – GABRIELA

Jalosjos, Cesar G.; Zamboanga del Norte, 3rd District

Jalosjos, Romeo Jr. M.; Zamboanga Sibugay, 2nd District

Jalosjos, Seth F. P.; Zamboanga del Norte, 1st District

Kho, Antonio T.; Masbate, 2nd District

Labadlabad, Rosendo S.; Zamboanga del Norte, 2nd District

Lagdameo, Monique Yazmin Q.; Makati City, 1st District

Lagman, Edcel C.; Albay, 1st District

Lazatin, Carmelo F.; Pampanga, 1st District

Leonen-Pizarro, Catalina G.; PL – ABS

Macapagal Arroyo, Juan Miguel; PL – AGP

Macapagal-Arroyo, Gloria M.; Pampanga, 2nd District

Magsaysay, Ma. Milagros H.; Zambales, 1st District

Mandanas, Hermilando I.; Batangas, 2nd District

Marañon, Alfredo III D.; Negros Occidental, 2nd District

Marcoleta, Rodante D.; PL – ALAGAD

Marcos, Imelda R.; Ilocos Norte, 2nd District

Matugas, Francisco ‘Lalo’ T.; Surigao del Norte, 1st District

Mellana, Evelyn P.; Agusan del Sur, 2nd District

Mercado-Revilla, Lani; Cavite, 2nd District

Nograles, Karlo Alexei B.; Davao City, 1st District

Obillo, Reena Concepcion G.; PL – UNA ANG PAMILYA

Ocampo, Rosenda Ann; Manila, 6th District

Ong, Emil L.; Northern Samar, 2nd District

Ortega, Victor Francisco C.; La Union, 1st District

Osmeña, Tomas R.; Cebu City, 2nd District

Pacquiao, Emmanuel D.; Sarangani, Lone District

Padilla, Carlos M.; Nueva Vizcaya, Lone District

Pangandaman, Mohammed Hussein P.; Lanao del Sur, 1st District

Pangandaman, Nasser C.; PL – AA KASOSYO

Pangandaman, Solaiman C. (Resigned); PL – AA KASOSYO

Panotes, Elmer E.; Camarines Norte, 2nd District

Pichay, Philip A.; Surigao del Sur, 1st District

Radaza, Arturo O.; Lapu-Lapu City, Lone District

Remulla, Jesus Crispin C.; Cavite, 7th District

Rodriguez, Maximo Jr. B.; PL – ABANTE MINDANAO

Rodriguez, Rufus B.; Cagayan de Oro City, 2nd District

Romarate, Guillermo Jr. A.; Surigao del Norte, 2nd District

Romualdez, Ferdinand Martin G.; Leyte, 1st District

Romualdo, Pedro P.; Camiguin, Lone District

Romulo, Roman T.; Pasig City, Lone District

Sambar, Mark Aeron H.; PL – PBA

Singson, Eric Jr. G.; Ilocos Sur, 2nd District

Singson, Ronald V. (Resigned); Ilocos Sur, 1st District

Socrates, Victorino Dennis M.; Palawan, 2nd District

Suarez, Danilo E.; Quezon, 3rd District

Sy-Alvarado, Ma. Victoria R.; Bulacan, 1st District

Syjuco, Augusto Boboy, Ph.D.; Iloilo, 2nd District

Tan, Milagrosa ‘Mila’ T.; Western Samar, 2nd District

Tiangco, Tobias ‘Toby’ M.; Navotas City, Lone District

Tinga, Sigfrido R.; Taguig City, 2nd District

Ty, Arnel U.; PL – LPGMA

Villafuerte, Luis R.; Camarines Sur, 3rd District

Villar, Mark A.; Las Piñas City, Lone District

Yap, Arthur C.; Bohol, 3rd District

%d bloggers like this: